13 Form

The 13 Forms, also known as the Thirteen Postures or Thirteen Movements, is a concept related to Tai Chi Chuan (太极拳), a Chinese martial art and internal exercise system. Tai Chi is known for its slow, smooth, and fluid movements, which are designed to balance and cultivate the flow of qi (life energy) throughout the body. It is often practiced for health benefits, meditation, and martial arts training.

pictures source:

The 13 Forms is a reference to the core principles and techniques that are the foundation of Tai Chi practice. These principles are divided into eight “gates” or trigrams (representing different energies and techniques) and five “steps” or elements (representing different directions of movement).

The Eight Gates (Trigrams):

  1. Peng (掤): Warding off
  2. Lu (履): Rolling back
  3. Ji (擠): Pressing
  4. An (按): Pushing
  5. Cai (採): Plucking
  6. Lie (列): Splitting
  7. Zhou (肘): Elbowing
  8. Kao (靠): Shoulder striking

The Five Steps (Elements):

  1. Jin (金): Advance forward
  2. Tui (退): Retreat backward
  3. Zuo Gu (左顾): Look to the left
  4. You Pan (右盼): Look to the right
  5. Zhong Ding (中定): Central equilibrium

These 13 Forms serve as the basis for various Tai Chi styles and routines, such as Yang, Chen, Wu, and Sun styles. Each style may have its unique characteristics and emphasis, but they all incorporate the fundamental principles of the 13 Forms in their practice.

To learn and practice the 13 Forms, it is recommended to find a qualified Tai Chi instructor or school, as they can provide proper guidance and ensure correct technique. Additionally, you can search for instructional videos on YouTube using keywords such as “13 Forms Tai Chi,” “Tai Chi 13 Postures,” or “Tai Chi 13 Movements.”

Scroll to Top